top of page

Soccer Movie Review - Sunday Ball


Sunday Ball Documentary Movie Poster

For those of you who like soccer documentaries, Sunday Ball may not be exactly what you would imagine. This morning I watched Sunday Ball expecting the standard back story plus character study pattern that most documentaries, let alone soccer documentaries, follow. NOPE!

As a reminder, although I do watch all the soccer movies I share on my blog, I have decided share the reviews for the movies that have been written by Soccer Movie Mom. Her reviews are well thought out pieces and are admittedly much better than what I would have come up with myself. So no need to fix something that is not already broken.

Just as an FYI, Rotten Tomatoes gave Sunday Ball an 80% rating.

Review: Campo de Jogo (Sunday Ball – 2014) review by MJ Lee (@SoccerMovieMom)

Campo de Jogo is a kinematic metaphor for Brazilian soccer. Director Eryk Rocha lays bare the intense emotions of favela futebol. He assembles a film that is both documentary and cinematic art. It was shown at New York’s MOMA and is similar to, but much better than, the 2006 art piece on Zidane.

Continue to full review --> click here

bottom of page