top of page

Jay DeMerit and The Universe are trying to tell me something

Back in January of 2011 when I was running my previous blog (Virginia Online Soccer News) I became aware of a documentary chronicling the true life story of how Jay DeMerit achieved his unlikely dream of playing professional soccer in England and playing for the U.S. Men's National team in the 2010 World Cup. Rise and Shine: The Jay DeMerit Story was an amazing movie and I highly recommend it to any American soccer fan.

Fast forward to last week, I am scrolling through Twitter when I saw this tweet from Amplified Soccer and was intrigued to see that one of the Tedx talks they recommended was from none other than - you guessed it - Jay DeMerit.

Obviously I had to watch the talk titled: Are you ready for your sunny day? The timing of this tweet for me was especially compelling since I was struggling to deal with some frustrating and challenging times and the theme just really spoke to me. Sometimes in life things, people, or topics seem to come into our lives at the precise moment that we need them to...this was one of those times for me.

About a week after watching the inspiring Tedx talk by Jay DeMerit I tuned in to BeIN Sports to watch the World Cup qualifying match between the US and Panama and who do I hear on the commentary team? Jay DeMerit! Now I'm starting to think the universe is trying to tell me something! Instead of being bogged down by the obsticles and challanges in my life, I need to ask myself this question: Am I ready for the day that my dream comes true? Are you?

"What's your dream. Do you have a success plan in place to navigate that path? What are you willing to go through to achieve it?" - Jay DeMerit

bottom of page